h1

Rules of the Shur (a.k.a the World) – as Dictated by Author (Warning: Spoilers!)

April 10, 2010

A godless world is the impetus for the story I tell in my “Pazuzu” trilogy.  The Creator left the world of the Shur desert because mankind became arrogant and sinned without repent.  This concept set my story’s ground rules.  I first needed to illustrate the wickedness of all my characters (That is everyone. Remember, God is gone).

Every chapter provides an example of a broken commandment in the Decalogue.  When I adequately demonstrated the concept, I moved on to the destruction of the Promised Land, Capital.  The events in Revelations provide the framework for the end of my story.

The rules –

10. I tell my story through the actions of human beings – the cosmic struggle impacts their wretched lives.

9. This is a savaged, war-torn world where the powers of the heathen drug trade match the strength of the military.

8. All the characters (humans, gods and demons) typically hold grandiose perspectives of themselves.

7. The gods and demons are ancient and evil, selfish and arrogant because of age.

6. Every character (humans, gods and demons) fail to communicate (unless the story dictates otherwise).

5. Every character (humans, gods and demons) fail their undertaking (again, unless the story dictates otherwise).

4. Lies, misconception and betrayal are commonplace.

3. If the actions of a character might break a commandment, that commandment is broken with abandon.

2. Only the UnChosen caste demonstrate humility.  The caste is subservient to the Chosen by order of false religious doctrine.

1. Every character (humans, gods and demons) are hedonistic as much as possible in a war-torn world.


Matthew Sawyer's Pazuzu Trilogy

Purchase Pazuzu Trilogy Pocket books and Hardcovers at LULU.

7 comments

  1. […] at Saint Erasmus. Lost in the chaos, Hen Cortras is taken prisoner and readers follow him into the Shur desert. He meets heathens – nomadic terrorists who crusade against the Chosen’s Church and […]


  2. […] careless, selfish or simply don’t listen or hear useful information. The idea fits with my rules for my world, the Shur desert. Chapter 14 Spoils of War in Gaunt Rainbow introduces yet another, […]


  3. […] my Pazuzu Trilogy, I generously grant evil the status of being extraterrestrial, though a rule-of-thumb about my alien gods is that duality makes them divine. They are at once evil, itself, and are drawn […]


  4. […] Scene Coloring Book (Spoilers) The world of the Shur is violent. In Matthew Sawyer’s Pazuzu Trilogy, sadism and homicidal mania are typical of […]


  5. […] into and are warned. The Pazuzu trilogy is not about resolution, see my blog post titled “Rules of the Shur (a.k.a. the World) – as Dictated by Author.” Folks who prefer more conventional stories, but are still interested in my Pazuzu Trilogy, […]


  6. […] the time. In fact, the only suggestions I’ve disregarded are those that don’t fit the rules I constructed for the Godless world of the Shur desert. The Pazuzu trilogy is my passion, the world […]


  7. […] Punishment in the Shur The first half of my Pazuzu Trilogy is dedicated to introducing the damned characters and the bleak world in which they live. I also want to illustrate why the Creator […]



Leave a Reply

