h1

What is a Chimera?

May 21, 2010

Essentially, a chimera is a mythological monster stuck together with the specialized parts of vicious real-world animals. I learned what a chimera was when I was a kid and read about Greek and Roman mythologies. As far as I know, the original chimera began as an animal with three heads (a lion, serpent and ram) and was depicted in ancient artwork – especially seen in red-figure and black-figure paintings on vases and other pieces of earthenware. And that is only a start. The monsters polymorph over the centuries.

The monsters in my college sketchbooks are also composites of animals – my imagination’s grimoire. Despite my drawings and paintings, I was never content with them. They needed more fiction behind their mythical origins, and my Pazuzu Trilogy best delivers that narrative.

Original creatures from Matthew Sawyer's college sketchbook.

Original creatures from Matthew Sawyer's college sketchbook.

Alien gods in the story create monstrous chimera when they recreate the creatures from their home-worlds. And this is where they fail their stolen divinity. The godless world of the Shur desert will not allow the existence of the aberrations. The alien gods need assistance from a fiend named Pazuzu, but the demon will not help them. Pazuzu claims godhood over the forsaken desert.

Encouraged by the Photoshop Phriday forum at Something Awful, I opened my old sketchbook of monsters from college and started my reliable, though venerable version of Photoshop. I stitched a few of my creations together again and let them live, for a little while, in my fantasy-horror story. The first book is Pazuzu – Manifestation.

Monsters in Matthew Sawyer's Pazuzu Trilogy

Monsters in Matthew Sawyer's Pazuzu Trilogy


Pazuzu Trilogy by Matthew Sawyer

Purchase Pazuzu Trilogy Pocket books and Hardcovers at LULU.

4 comments

  1. […] Essentially, a chimera is a mythological monster stuck together with the specialized parts of vicious real-world animals. I learned what a chimera was when I was a kid and read about Greek and Roman mythologies. As far as I know, the original chimera began as an animal with three heads (a lion, serpent and ram) and was depicted in ancient artwork – especially seen in red-figure and black-figure paintings on vases and other pieces of earthenware. … Read More […]


  2. […] St Erasmus. She then spins off to face her own share of destruction – wrought by heathens and alien monsters […]


  3. […] its weaponized effect. The Pazuzu Trilogy is about a demon and the chaos of Armageddon, monstrous invasion and a celestial war of […]


  4. […] Torn Apart by Monsters […]



Leave a Reply

